Faculty Listing

Ernest M. Agee Ernest M. Agee - Professor
Office: HAMP 4267
Phone: 765 494-3282
eagee@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Mesoscale Convection, Thunderstorms and Tornadoes, Coherent Structures, Cold Air Outbreaks, Climate Change, and Solar Variability.


Chris AndronicosChris Andronicos - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3277-D
Phone: 765 494-5982
candroni@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Evolution of the solid earth, particularly the continental and oceanic crust, and underlying mantle lithosphere.


Michael Baldwin Michael Baldwin - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 4267A
Phone: 765 494-0345
baldwin@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Numerical Weather Prediction, Forecast Verification, Data Assimilation, Data Mining


Larry BraileLarry W. Braile - Professor
Office: HAMP 2271
Phone: 765 494-5979
braile@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Seismology, Crustal and Upper Mantle Structure, Inversion of Geophysical Data, Intraplate Earthquakes, Earth Science Education


Indrajeet ChaubeyIndrajeet Chaubey - Professor and Department Head
Office: HAMP 2169A
Phone: 765 494-3258
ichaubey@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Ecohydrology


John Cushman John Cushman - University Distinguished Professor of EAPS
Office: HAMP 3223
Phone: 765 494-8040
jcushman@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Geohydrology, Porous Media Physics, Spatial Variability, Applied Math and Statistics


Maarten de HoopMaarten de Hoop - Professor
Office: MATH 422
Phone: 765 496-6439
mdehoop@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Exploration Seismology, Global Seismology, Geodynamics, Inverse Problems


Julie Elliott Julie Elliott - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 3277C
Phone: 765 494-0484   
julieelliott@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Geodesy, active tectonics and glacier change.

Timothy Filley Timothy Filley - Professor
Office: HAMP 3225
Phone: 765 494-6581
filley@purdue.edu
http://www.eaps.purdue.edu/filley
Research Interests: Molecular Stable-isotope Biogeochemistry, Microbial Cycling of Carbon and Nitrogen, Formation of High Sulfur Sediments, Preservation of Lipids and Macromolecules


Lucy FleschLucy Flesch - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3235
Phone: 765 494-0263
lmflesch@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Kinematics and Dynamics of the Continental Lithosphere, namely the interaction between the lithospheric Crust and Mantle Lithospheric Layers, Deformational Driving Forces of Continental Lithosphere, and the Development of Large Plateaus. All models performed are observationally based using Geodetic, Geologic and Seismic data.


Joseph Francisco Joseph S. Francisco - University Distinguished Professor, William E. Moore Distinguished Professor of EAPS and Chemistry
Office: HAMP 4290
Phone: 765 494-7868
francisc@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Atmospheric Chemistry, Tropospheric and Stratospheric Chemical Kinetics and Modeling, Atmospheric Laser Spectroscopy, Photochemistry


Andy Freed Andrew Freed - Professor
Office: HAMP 3269
Phone: 765 496-3738
freed@purdue.edu 
http://www.eas.purdue.edu/freed/ 
Research Interests: Rheology, Postseismic Deformation, Earthquake Triggering, Evolution of Planetary Surfaces, Subduction Zone Processes


Andrei Gabrielov Andrei Gabrielov - Professor
Office: MATH 648
Phone: 764 494-7911
gabriea@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Modeling of Seismicity, Earthquake Prediction, Nonlinear Science, Theoretical Mathematics


Hersh GilbertHersh Gilbert - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3241
Phone: 765 496-9518
hersh@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Continental Evolution, Seismology, Upper Mantle Structure, Mountain Building


Alexander Gluhosky Alexander Gluhovsky - Professor
Office: HAMP 4263
Phone: 765 494-0670
aglu@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Geophysical Fluid Dynamics, Coherent Structures in Turbulent Flows, Predictability, Resampling Methods for Atmospheric Time Series, Statistics of Extremes in Weather and Climate


Darryl GrangerDarryl Granger - Professor and Associate Head
Office: HAMP 3277A 
Phone: 765 494-0043
dgranger@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Tectonic Geomorphology, Landscape Evolution, Cosmogenic Nuclides Applied to Geomorphology and Surficial Processes, Environmental Geosciences


Saad HaqSaad Haq - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 2277
Phone: 765 496-7206
haq@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Tectonics, Structural Geology, Analog and Numerical Modeling 


Jon HarborJon Harbor - Professor
Office: HAMP 3273
Phone: 765-494-3258
jharbor@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Hydrologic and Geomorphic Impacts of Land Use and Climate Change, Glacial Geomorphology, Environmental Education Research


HarshavardhanHarshvardhan - Professor and Associate Head
Office: HAMP 4286
Phone: 765 494-0693
harshvar@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Radiative Transfer, Clouds and Aerosol, Remote Sensing, Climate


Briony HorganBriony Horgan - Assistant Professor 
Office: HAMP 3233
Phone: 765 496-2290
briony@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Planetary Geology, Infrared Spectroscopy, Mars Analogs, Surface Weathering, Aeolian Geomorphology

Sonia Lasher-TrappSonia Lasher-Trapp - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 4259A
Phone: 765 496-2866 
slasher@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Cloud Microphysics, Precipitation, Giant Aerosol, Cloud Entrainment, Numerical Modeling and Measurements of Clouds and Precipitation


Nathaniel LiftonNathaniel A. Lifton - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 3275
Phone: 765 494-0754
nlifton@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Cosmogenic Nuclides Applied to Surficial Processes, Quaternary Geology


Jay MeloshJay Melosh - University Distinguished Professor of EAPS
Office: HAMP 3237
Phone: 765 494-3290
jmelosh@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Ramifications of Impact Cratering, Planetary Tectonics, Physics of Earthquakes and Landslides


Greg Michalski Greg Michalski - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3229
Phone: 765-494-3704
gmichals@purdue.edu
http://www.eas.purdue.edu/michalski/
Research Interests: Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry, Nitrogen Cycling in Aquatic and Soil Systems, Regional Air/Water Pollution, Mass-Independent Isotope Effects and their use in Paleoclimatology and Aerosol Chemistry, Isotope Effects in Gas Phase Reactions, Modeling Isotopes in Atmospheric Chemistry


David MintonDavid Minton - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 3231 
Phone: 765 494-3292
daminton@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Orbital dynamics, Planet formation, Planet migration, the Late Heavy Bombardment, Dynamics and structure of small bodies


Dev Niyogi Dev Niyogi - Professor and Indiana State Climatologist
Room: HAMP 4284
Phone: 765 494-6574
climate@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Land Surface Processes and Effects of Vegetation – Atmosphere Interactions on Environmental Processes at Different Scales


Robert NowackRobert L. Nowack - Professor
Room: HAMP 2275 
Phone: 765 494-5978 
nowack@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Seismology and Earthquakes


James OggJames G. Ogg - Professor
Office: HAMP 2273
Phone: 765 494-8681
jogg@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Paleomagnetics, Sedimentology, Marine Geology

Kenneth Ridgway Kenneth D Ridgway - Professor
Office: HAMP 3277B
Phone: 765 494-3269
ridge@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Basin Analysis, Tectonics, Sedimentary Petrology, Petroleum Geology


Dan Shepardson Dan Shepardson - Professor
Office: HAMP 2285B
Phone: 765 494-8181
dshep@purdue.edu
Research Interests:  Geoenvironmental Education, Learners' Conceptions, Social Interaction, Science Journals, Alternative Assessment


Paul B. ShepsonPaul B. Shepson - Professor
Office: BRWN 2104 
Phone: 765 494-5203
pshepson@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Atmospheric Chemistry, Tropospheric Ozone and Photochemical Smog, Atmospheric Chemical Measurements, Modeling of Tropospheric Photochemistry, Environmental Geosciences 


Yuch-Ning Shieh Yuch-Ning Shieh - Professor
Office: HAMP 3271 
Phone: 765 494-3272 
ynshieh@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Stable-isotope Geochemistry, Oxygen, Hydrogen, and Carbon Isotopes in Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology, Sulfur Isotopes in Coal and Mineral Deposits


Sun Wen Yih Wen-Yih Sun - Professor
Room: HAMP 4280 
Phone: 765 494-7681
wysun@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Geofluid Dynamics, Numerical Modeling of Mesoscale Meteorology and Regional Climate Boundary Layer Meteorology, Air Pollution


Jeff TrappJeff Trapp - Professor
Office: HAMP 3221
Phone: 765 496-6661
jtrapp@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Dynamics and Observations of Mesoscale Convective Systems, Severe Thunderstorms, and Tornadoes, Mesoscale Modeling and Predictability


Wen-wen TungWen-wen Tung - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3219
Phone: 765 494-0272
wwtung@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Tropical Meteorology (Tropical Waves, Intraseasonal Oscillation, Monsoon, etc.), Atmospheric Convective Systems, Cloud Systems in Climate Change 

Terry West Terry West - Professor
Office: HAMP 3245
Phone: 765 494-3296  
trwest@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Engineering Geology, Hazardous-waste Disposal, Engineering Properties of Rock, Rock Slope Stability, Remote Sensing 


Yutian Wu Yutian Wu - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 3217
Phone: 765 494-8677   
wu640@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Storm track dynamics, atmosphere general circulation, climate change


Qianlai Zhuang Qianlai Zhuang - Willaim F. & Patty J. Miller Professor of EAPS
Office: HAMP 2269
Phone: 765 494-3296  
qzhuang@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Interactions among Atmosphere, Biosphere, and Human Dimension in the Context of Climate Change, Chemical Element Cycles, Policy-making


William J. ZinsmeisterWilliam J. Zinsmeister - Professor
Office: HAMP 3227 
Phone: 765 494-0279 
wjzins@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Paleontology, Stratigraphy, Biostratigraphy, Biogeography, Field Geology

William HinzeWilliam Hinze - Professor Emeritus
E-Mail: wjh730@comcast.net
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Geophysics



Arvid M. JohnsonArvid M. Johnson - Professor Emeritus
E-Mail:gotesson@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Structural Geology, Geomechanics



Gerald Krockover Gerald H. Krockover - Professor Emeritus
E-Mail:hawk1@purdue.edu 
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Earth and Atmospheric Science Education



Darrell I. Leap Darrell I. Leap - Professor Emeritus
E-Mail: mountains2oceans@comcast.net 
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Hydrology



Phillip J. SmithPhillip J. Smith  - Professor Emeritus
Office: HAMP 4288
Phone: 765 494-3286 
E-Mail:pjsmith@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Dynamic Meteorology, Atmospheric Energetics, Synoptic Meteorology, Cyclone Dynamics


Thomas TharpThomas M. Tharp - Professor Emeritus
Room: HAMP 2285 
Phone: 765 494-8678 
E-Mail: ttharp1@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Rheology of Earth Materials, Numerical Modeling, Numerical Modeling in Tectonics, Structural and Engineering Geology


Dayton VincentDayton Vincent - Professor Emeritus
Office: HAMP 4284
Phone: 765 494-6574 
E-Mail: dvincent@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Tropical Meteorology


Brenda BowenBrenda Beitler Bowen - Adjunct Associate Professor
Institution: The University of Utah
E-Mail: brenda.bowen@utah.edu
http://www.eas.purdue.edu/sed/
Research Interests: Sedimentary Geology, Diagenesis, Fluid Flow, Basin Evolution, Remote Sensing, Mars Analog Research


Gabriel Bowen Gabriel Bowen - Adjunct Associate Professor
Institution: The University of Utah
E-Mail: gabe.bowen@utah.edu
http://www.eas.purdue.edu/ireh
Research Interests: Stable Isotope Geochemistry, Paleoclimatology, Ecology


Eric CalaisEric Calais - Adjunct Professor
E-Mail: ecalais@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Current Plate Motions, Intraplate and Plate Boundary Deformation in Active Tectonic Systems: Kinematics and Dynamics; Deformation Cycle, Magma-Tectonic Processes, and Stress Transfer at Active Plate Boundaries, Global Positioning System (GPS) Geodesy, Atmospheric Remote Sensing with GPS (Tropospheric Water Vapor, Ionospheric Electron Content)


Noah DiffenbaughNoah Diffenbaugh - Adjunct Associate Professor
Institution: Stanford University
E-Mail: diffenbaugh@stanford.edu
Research Interests: Climate Change, Biosphere-Atmosphere Feedbacks, Paleoclimatology, Earth System Modeling


Kevin Gurney Kevin Gurney - Adjunct Professor
Institution: Arizona State University 
E-Mail: Kevin.Gurney@asu.edu
http://gurney.faculty.asu.edu/
Research Interests: Global Carbon Cycle, Inverse Methods, Biogeochemistry, Climate Change Policy 


Jennifer HaaseJennifer Haase - Adjunct Assitant Professor
E-Mail: jhaase@purdue.edu




Matthew HuberMatthew Huber - Adjunct Professor, University of New Hampshire
Phone: 765 494-0044
E-Mail: huberm@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Paleoclimate Modeling, Climate Change, Global Warming, Paleoceanography


Hi-Kong Min Ki-Hong Min - Adjunct Professor
E-Mail :min@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Regional Climate Modeling and Numerical Weather Prediction, Synoptic Dynamic Meteorology, Coupled Atmosphere-Land-Ocean Studies, Global to Regional Scale Water Cycle


James E. Richardson Jr. James E. Richardson Jr. - Adjunct Assistant Research Professor
E-Mail :jerichardsonjr@me.com
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Geology, Geophysics, and Geomorphology of Impact Crater Dominated Terrains on Small Solar System Bodies, Planetary Satellites and Terrestrial Planets Investigated via Spacecraft Observations, Variety of Analytical and Numerical Modeling Techniques


Eric RiggsEric Riggs -  Adjunct Associate Professor
Institution: Texas A&M University
E-Mail:emriggs@geos.tamu.edu 
http://geosciences.tamu.edu/profile/ERiggs
Research Interests: Geoscience Education, Field-based Learning, Spatial Cognition and Problem Solving in Geological Contexts, Influence of Culture and Language on Geoscience Learning, Structural Geology, Fracture Mechanics, Rock Deformation


Marc Caffee Marc Caffee - Courtesy Appointment & Professor of Physics
Office: PHYS S177
Phone: 765 494-2586
E-Mail: mcaffee@physics.purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Application of Stable- and Radio-Nuclides to problems in the Geosciences including Quaternary Landform Evolution, Cosmochronology, Hydrology and Atmospheric Processes. The development of techniques to enable the measurement of new Cosmogenic Nuclides.


Tom Carney Tom Carney - Courtesy Appointment & Professor of Aviation Technology
Office: AT 221
Phone: 765 494-9954
E-Mail: tcarney@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Aviation Meteorology, Impact of Weather on Aviation Operations, Synoptic-scale Dynamics and Energetics, Interactions between Synoptic- and Mesoscale-Motion Fields


Laura Pyrak-Nolte Laura J. Pyrak-Nolte - Courtesy Appointment & Professor of Physics
Office: PHYS 166
Phone: 765 494-3027 
E-Mail: ljpn@physics.purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Applied Geophysics, ISRM Work Group