Faculty Listing

Ernest M. AgeeErnest M. Agee - Professor
Office: HAMP 4267
Phone: 765 494-3282
eagee@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Mesoscale Convection, Thunderstorms and Tornadoes, Coherent Structures, Cold Air Outbreaks, Climate Change, and Solar Variability.


Chris AndronicosChris Andronicos - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3277-D
Phone: 765 494-5982
candroni@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Evolution of the solid earth, particularly the continental and oceanic crust, and underlying mantle lithosphere.


Michael BaldwinMichael Baldwin - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 4267A
Phone: 765 494-0345
baldwin@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Numerical Weather Prediction, Forecast Verification, Data Assimilation, Data Mining


Larry BraileLarry W. Braile - Professor
Office: HAMP 2271
Phone: 765 494-5979
braile@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Seismology, Crustal and Upper Mantle Structure, Inversion of Geophysical Data, Intraplate Earthquakes, Earth Science Education


Indrajeet ChaubeyIndrajeet Chaubey - Professor and Department Head
Office: HAMP 2169A
Phone: 765 494-3258
ichaubey@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Ecohydrology


John CushmanJohn Cushman - University Distinguished Professor of EAPS
Office: HAMP 3223
Phone: 765 494-8040
jcushman@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Geohydrology, Porous Media Physics, Spatial Variability, Applied Math and Statistics


Maarten de HoopMaarten de Hoop - Professor
Office: MATH 422
Phone: 765 496-6439
mdehoop@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Exploration Seismology, Global Seismology, Geodynamics, Inverse Problems


Julie ElliottJulie Elliott - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 3277C
Phone: 765 494-0484   
julieelliott@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Geodesy, active tectonics and glacier change.

Timothy FilleyTimothy Filley - Professor
Office: HAMP 3225
Phone: 765 494-6581
filley@purdue.edu
http://www.eaps.purdue.edu/filley
Research Interests: Molecular Stable-isotope Biogeochemistry, Microbial Cycling of Carbon and Nitrogen, Formation of High Sulfur Sediments, Preservation of Lipids and Macromolecules


Lucy FleschLucy Flesch - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3235
Phone: 765 494-0263
lmflesch@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Kinematics and Dynamics of the Continental Lithosphere, namely the interaction between the lithospheric Crust and Mantle Lithospheric Layers, Deformational Driving Forces of Continental Lithosphere, and the Development of Large Plateaus. All models performed are observationally based using Geodetic, Geologic and Seismic data.


Andy FreedAndrew Freed - Professor
Office: HAMP 3269
Phone: 765 496-3738
freed@purdue.edu 
http://www.eas.purdue.edu/freed/ 
Research Interests: Rheology, Postseismic Deformation, Earthquake Triggering, Evolution of Planetary Surfaces, Subduction Zone Processes


Marty FrisbeeMarty Frisbee - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP
Phone:
mdfrisbee@purdue.edu 
Research Interests: Groundwater and Surface Water Interactions, namely the interactions between deep groundwater and surface water, scaling relationships of these interactions, and the impact of these interactions on the geochemical evolution and residence times of water, and watershed response to perturbations.


Andrei GabrielovAndrei Gabrielov - Professor
Office: MATH 648
Phone: 764 494-7911
gabriea@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Modeling of Seismicity, Earthquake Prediction, Nonlinear Science, Theoretical Mathematics


Hersh GilbertHersh Gilbert - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3241
Phone: 765 496-9518
hersh@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Continental Evolution, Seismology, Upper Mantle Structure, Mountain Building


Alexander GluhoskyAlexander Gluhovsky - Professor
Office: HAMP 4263
Phone: 765 494-0670
aglu@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Geophysical Fluid Dynamics, Coherent Structures in Turbulent Flows, Predictability, Resampling Methods for Atmospheric Time Series, Statistics of Extremes in Weather and Climate


Darryl GrangerDarryl Granger - Professor and Associate Head
Office: HAMP 3277A 
Phone: 765 494-0043
dgranger@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Tectonic Geomorphology, Landscape Evolution, Cosmogenic Nuclides Applied to Geomorphology and Surficial Processes, Environmental Geosciences


Saad HaqSaad Haq - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 2277
Phone: 765 496-7206
haq@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Tectonics, Structural Geology, Analog and Numerical Modeling 


Jon HarborJon Harbor - Professor
Office: HAMP 3273
Phone: 765-494-1255
jharbor@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Hydrologic and Geomorphic Impacts of Land Use and Climate Change, Glacial Geomorphology, Environmental Education Research


HarshavardhanHarshvardhan - Professor and Associate Head
Office: HAMP 4286
Phone: 765 494-0693
harshvar@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Radiative Transfer, Clouds and Aerosol, Remote Sensing, Climate


Briony HorganBriony Horgan - Assistant Professor 
Office: HAMP 3233
Phone: 765 496-2290
briony@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Planetary Geology, Infrared Spectroscopy, Mars Analogs, Surface Weathering, Aeolian Geomorphology

Nathaniel LiftonNathaniel A. Lifton - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 3275
Phone: 765 494-0754
nlifton@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Cosmogenic Nuclides Applied to Surficial Processes, Quaternary Geology


Jay MeloshJay Melosh - University Distinguished Professor of EAPS
Office: HAMP 3237
Phone: 765 494-3290
jmelosh@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Ramifications of Impact Cratering, Planetary Tectonics, Physics of Earthquakes and Landslides


Greg MichalskiGreg Michalski - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3229
Phone: 765-494-3704
gmichals@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry, Nitrogen Cycling in Aquatic and Soil Systems, Regional Air/Water Pollution, Mass-Independent Isotope Effects and their use in Paleoclimatology and Aerosol Chemistry, Isotope Effects in Gas Phase Reactions, Modeling Isotopes in Atmospheric Chemistry


David MintonDavid Minton - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 3231 
Phone: 765 494-3292
daminton@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Orbital dynamics, Planet formation, Planet migration, the Late Heavy Bombardment, Dynamics and structure of small bodies


Dev NiyogiDev Niyogi - Professor and Indiana State Climatologist
Room: HAMP 4284
Phone: 765 494-6574
climate@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Land Surface Processes and Effects of Vegetation – Atmosphere Interactions on Environmental Processes at Different Scales


Robert NowackRobert L. Nowack - Professor
Room: HAMP 2275 
Phone: 765 494-5978 
nowack@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Seismology and Earthquakes


James OggJames G. Ogg - Professor
Office: HAMP 2273
Phone: 765 494-8681
jogg@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Paleomagnetics, Sedimentology, Marine Geology

Kenneth RidgwayKenneth D Ridgway - Professor
Office: HAMP 3277B
Phone: 765 494-3269
ridge@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Basin Analysis, Tectonics, Sedimentary Petrology, Petroleum Geology


Dan ShepardsonDan Shepardson - Professor
Office: HAMP 2285B
Phone: 765 494-8181
dshep@purdue.edu
Research Interests:  Geoenvironmental Education, Learners' Conceptions, Social Interaction, Science Journals, Alternative Assessment


Paul B. ShepsonPaul B. Shepson - Professor
Office: BRWN 2104 
Phone: 765 494-5203
pshepson@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Atmospheric Chemistry, Tropospheric Ozone and Photochemical Smog, Atmospheric Chemical Measurements, Modeling of Tropospheric Photochemistry, Environmental Geosciences 


Yuch-Ning ShiehYuch-Ning Shieh - Professor
Office: HAMP 3271 
Phone: 765 494-3272 
ynshieh@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Stable-isotope Geochemistry, Oxygen, Hydrogen, and Carbon Isotopes in Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology, Sulfur Isotopes in Coal and Mineral Deposits


Sun Wen YihWen-Yih Sun - Professor
Room: HAMP 4280 
Phone: 765 494-7681
wysun@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Geofluid Dynamics, Numerical Modeling of Mesoscale Meteorology and Regional Climate Boundary Layer Meteorology, Air Pollution


Wen-wen TungWen-wen Tung - Associate Professor
Office: HAMP 3219
Phone: 765 494-0272
wwtung@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Tropical Meteorology (Tropical Waves, Intraseasonal Oscillation, Monsoon, etc.), Atmospheric Convective Systems, Cloud Systems in Climate Change 

Terry WestTerry West - Professor
Office: HAMP 3245
Phone: 765 494-3296  
trwest@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Engineering Geology, Hazardous-waste Disposal, Engineering Properties of Rock, Rock Slope Stability, Remote Sensing 


Yutian WuYutian Wu - Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 3217
Phone: 765 494-8677   
wu640@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Storm track dynamics, atmosphere general circulation, climate change


Qianlai ZhuangQianlai Zhuang - Willaim F. & Patty J. Miller Professor of EAPS
Office: HAMP 2269
Phone: 765 494-3296  
qzhuang@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Interactions among Atmosphere, Biosphere, and Human Dimension in the Context of Climate Change, Chemical Element Cycles, Policy-making


William J. ZinsmeisterWilliam J. Zinsmeister - Professor
Office: HAMP 3227 
Phone: 765 494-0279 
wjzins@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Paleontology, Stratigraphy, Biostratigraphy, Biogeography, Field Geology

Joseph FranciscoJoseph S. Francisco - University Distinguished Professor, William E. Moore Distinguished Professor of EAPS and Chemistry
francisc@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Atmospheric Chemistry, Tropospheric and Stratospheric Chemical Kinetics and Modeling, Atmospheric Laser Spectroscopy, Photochemistry


William HinzeWilliam Hinze - Professor Emeritus
wjh730@comcast.net
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Geophysics



Arvid M. JohnsonArvid M. Johnson - Professor Emeritus
gotesson@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Structural Geology, Geomechanics



Gerald KrockoverGerald H. Krockover - Professor Emeritus
hawk1@purdue.edu 
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Earth and Atmospheric Science Education



Darrell I. LeapDarrell I. Leap - Professor Emeritus
mountains2oceans@comcast.net 
Curriculum Vitae
Research Interests: Hydrology



Phillip J. SmithPhillip J. Smith  - Professor Emeritus
Office: HAMP 4288
Phone: 765 494-3286 
pjsmith@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Dynamic Meteorology, Atmospheric Energetics, Synoptic Meteorology, Cyclone Dynamics


Thomas TharpThomas M. Tharp - Professor Emeritus
Room: HAMP 2285 
Phone: 765 494-8678 
ttharp1@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Rheology of Earth Materials, Numerical Modeling, Numerical Modeling in Tectonics, Structural and Engineering Geology


Dayton VincentDayton Vincent - Professor Emeritus
Office: HAMP 4284
Phone: 765 494-6574 
dvincent@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Tropical Meteorology


Brenda BowenBrenda Beitler Bowen - Adjunct Associate Professor
Institution: The University of Utah
brenda.bowen@utah.edu  
Research Interests: Sedimentary Geology, Diagenesis, Fluid Flow, Basin Evolution, Remote Sensing, Mars Analog Research


Gabriel BowenGabriel Bowen - Adjunct Associate Professor
Institution: The University of Utah
gabe.bowen@utah.edu
Research Interests: Stable Isotope Geochemistry, Paleoclimatology, Ecology


Eric CalaisEric Calais - Adjunct Professor
ecalais@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Current Plate Motions, Intraplate and Plate Boundary Deformation in Active Tectonic Systems: Kinematics and Dynamics; Deformation Cycle, Magma-Tectonic Processes, and Stress Transfer at Active Plate Boundaries, Global Positioning System (GPS) Geodesy, Atmospheric Remote Sensing with GPS (Tropospheric Water Vapor, Ionospheric Electron Content)


Noah DiffenbaughNoah Diffenbaugh - Adjunct Associate Professor
Institution: Stanford University
diffenbaugh@stanford.edu
Research Interests: Climate Change, Biosphere-Atmosphere Feedbacks, Paleoclimatology, Earth System Modeling


Kevin GurneyKevin Gurney - Adjunct Professor
Institution: Arizona State University 
Kevin.Gurney@asu.edu
Research Interests: Global Carbon Cycle, Inverse Methods, Biogeochemistry, Climate Change Policy 


Jennifer HaaseJennifer Haase - Adjunct Assitant Professor
jhaase@purdue.edu




Matthew HuberMatthew Huber - Adjunct Professor, University of New Hampshire
huberm@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Paleoclimate Modeling, Climate Change, Global Warming, Paleoceanography



Hi-Kong MinKi-Hong Min - Adjunct Professor
min@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Regional Climate Modeling and Numerical Weather Prediction, Synoptic Dynamic Meteorology, Coupled Atmosphere-Land-Ocean Studies, Global to Regional Scale Water Cycle


James E. Richardson Jr.James E. Richardson Jr. - Adjunct Assistant Research Professor
jerichardsonjr@me.com
Research Interests: Geology, Geophysics, and Geomorphology of Impact Crater Dominated Terrains on Small Solar System Bodies, Planetary Satellites and Terrestrial Planets Investigated via Spacecraft Observations, Variety of Analytical and Numerical Modeling Techniques


Eric RiggsEric Riggs -  Adjunct Associate Professor
Institution: Texas A&M University
emriggs@geos.tamu.edu 
Research Interests: Geoscience Education, Field-based Learning, Spatial Cognition and Problem Solving in Geological Contexts, Influence of Culture and Language on Geoscience Learning, Structural Geology, Fracture Mechanics, Rock Deformation


Marc CaffeeMarc Caffee - Courtesy Appointment & Professor of Physics
Office: PHYS S177
Phone: 765 494-2586
mcaffee@physics.purdue.edu
Research Interests: Application of Stable- and Radio-Nuclides to problems in the Geosciences including Quaternary Landform Evolution, Cosmochronology, Hydrology and Atmospheric Processes. The development of techniques to enable the measurement of new Cosmogenic Nuclides.


Tom CarneyTom Carney - Courtesy Appointment & Professor of Aviation Technology
Office: AT 221
Phone: 765 494-9954
tcarney@purdue.edu
Research Interests: Aviation Meteorology, Impact of Weather on Aviation Operations, Synoptic-scale Dynamics and Energetics, Interactions between Synoptic- and Mesoscale-Motion Fields


Laura Pyrak-NolteLaura J. Pyrak-Nolte - Courtesy Appointment & Professor of Physics
Office: PHYS 166
Phone: 765 494-3027 
ljpn@physics.purdue.edu
Research Interests: Applied Geophysics, ISRM Work Group


Dr. Jason NaylorDr. Jason Naylor - Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: HAMP 2169
Phone: 765-491-1974
jasonnaylor@purdue.edu
Research Interests: